“Bonjor!”

The first thing I saw after stepping off the metro in Montmarte was a local farmer’s fresh fruit stand. I beelined toward him and with my best French greeting ended up ordering the largest paper bag full of cherries he had. I then stopped to get a cheese and sausage filled banquette from a neighboring stand and headed up the steep stairs of Montmarte. We had arrived in Paris on Bastille Day and were attempting to watch the fireworks like the locals. Bastille Day isn’t as hyped about as Independence Day in America, and according to our guide, locals are far less likely to be watching fireworks under the crowded Eiffel Tower and much more likely to relax on the hill at Montmarte.

imageThe cherries were ripe and fruity, a few bug were crawling around the bag but hey, no pesticides right…? My sandwich was light and fresh, just what I needed.

imageOur whole group sitting outside Montmarte all lit up. Paris is a beautiful city, but a dirty city as I’m sure you’ve heard. I suggest bringing a blanket to sit on with you. It’s a necessity for picnics in grassy parks anyway.  imageMyself, Sam, Sara and Katrina from left to right.


Leave a comment